The Phillips & Associates Oklahoma Law Blog

SERVICES

We have ore than 50 years of experience
By Dustin Phillips on
April 18, 2011
April 9, 2020

A sobriety checkpoint set up by Oklahoma County sheriff's deputies in southeast Oklahoma City led to the arrests of 17 people on various offenses and outstanding    warrants.  

Use of Sobriety Checkpoints

In addition, deputies issued 59 citations and 13 warnings, according to Oklahoma County Sheriff's Office spokesman Mark Myers and a local newspaper report.    Although sobriety checkpoints are purportedly established in an attempt to reduce DUI's in Oklahoma, the majority of arrests are actually from other offenses or warrants.  

Of the arrests at the recent sobriety checkpoint at S.E. 44 and Bryant Avenue, only six were on suspicion of DUI.  Six others were arrested on outstanding warrants, and four were arrested for driving on a suspended license. Penalties for a first offense DUI in Oklahoma include:

           
  • Up to one year in jail (up to 4 years if transporting a child under 18)
  •        
  • Fine of up to $1,000 (up to $2,000 if transporting a child under 18)
  •        
  • Minimum of $300 in DUI feese
  •        
  • 30 day suspension of driver's license
  •        
  • Mandatory drug and alcohol abuse evaluation and assessment program (established by the Aaron Gillming Act of 2010)
  •    

Subsequent Oklahoma DUI convictions net increasingly harsh legal ramifications, including extended jail time and driver's license suspension or revocation, ignition interlock, community service, and more. Driving on a suspended license in Oklahoma is a serious offense, and if one's license is suspended for any reason, he or she should not risk driving, regardless of the inconvenience.  

Driving With a Suspended License in Oklahoma

If you are caught driving while suspended, penalties include:

           
  • Fines of $100-$500
  •        
  • Up to 6 months in  prison
  •        
  • Extension of license suspension, often up to 1 year beyond the original term
  •        
  • Additional points against the license
  •        
  • Mandatory traffic school
  •    

Under the Gaje Jeffrey Florence Act of 2009, a second offense of driving on a suspended license, or a first offense in which an unlicensed driver caused    an injury or fatality accident, is charged as a felony and is punishable by up to 5 years in prison and/or a maximum $3,000 fine.

Potential Defense Strategies

If you have been arrested for DUI, driving on a suspended license, or on an existing warrant as a result of an Oklahoma County sobriety checkpoint, an Oklahoma traffic attorney or Oklahoma City DUI lawyer can help.  From an illegal arrest to inadequate attempts to notify you of a suspension, a criminal lawyer has a number of tools available for your defense.  Call for more information or to arrange a free evaluation of your case.

REQUEST A FREE CASE EVALUATION

If you've been charged with a crime, or believe you may be, don't delay. Time is critical.
Contact Phillips & Associates now so that we can begin reviewing your case.
Call our offices anytime at 405-418-8888 or complete the form below.

Thank you! Your submission has been received!
Oops! Something went wrong while submitting the form.