While the Oklahoma legislature passed a bill earlier this year that would've allowed any adult "in good standing" to carry a concealed firearm, the measure was ultimately vetoed by Governor Mary Fallin on the grounds that it would have eliminated training requirements and background checks.
So what is the current concealed carry law in Oklahoma? Let's take a look.
Licensing & Permitting Process
In order to carry a concealed weapon in the of OK you'll need to meet all of the following requirements:
- You must 21 year old or older
- You must be a citizen of the U.S.A.
- You are required to be a resident of the state of Oklahoma
- You must have a valid/current Oklahoma driver license or other eligible state photo ID card.
- Read and demonstrate an understanding of the Oklahoma Self Defense Act (OSDA)
- You must complete an approved training class for firearms or obtain an exemption
- You must not have any convictions for the following offenses;
- assault and battery, which caused serious physical injury to the victim, or any second or subsequent assault and battery conviction;
- aggravated assault and battery;
- a violation relating to the Protection from Domestic Abuse Act, or any violation of a victim protection order of another state;
- any conviction relating to illegal drug use or possession; or
- an act of domestic abuse or domestic assault and battery.
- You must not have two or more convictions for public intoxication in last 3 years.
- Must not have 2 or more convictions for DUI and/or Intoxication in last 3 years.
- You have no significant character defects as shown by a misdemeanor criminal record indicating habitual criminal activity.
- Federal Law – Additionally prohibits the following people from getting a concealed carry permit.
You can choose between a 5 year or 10 year permit. The 5 year permit is $100 and the 10 year permit is $200. These fees are non-refundable should you be found ineligible for a concealed carry permit. All fees are paid to the Oklahoma State Bureau of Investigations.
OSBI Listing of Licensed Individuals
In order to keep track of individuals with concealed carry permits the OSBI maintains an online listing. They also track individuals whose licenses have either been suspended or revoked. This list is intended solely for law enforcement agencies. Should your address change, it will be necessary to inform the OSBI within 30 days of changing your mailing address.
Renewing Your Permit
If your license is set to expire in the next 90 days or has already expired (but not more than 3 years ago), you may apply for a renew online. Alternatively you may take or mail your completed application, the required fee and 2 passport-style photos to OSBI at the following address.
Oklahoma State Bureau of Investigation
Self-Defense Act Licensing Unit
6600 North Harvey Place
Oklahoma City, OK 73116
Places You Can NOT Carry Regardless of Permit
A. It shall be unlawful for any person in possession of a valid handgun license issued pursuant to the provisions of the Oklahoma Self‑Defense Act to carry any concealed or unconcealed handgun into any of the following places:
1. Any structure, building, or office space which is owned or leased by a city, town, county, state, or federal governmental authority for the purpose of conducting business with the public;
2. Any meeting of any city, town, county, state or federal officials, school board members, legislative members, or any other elected or appointed officials;
3. Any prison, jail, detention facility or any facility used to process, hold, or house arrested persons, prisoners or persons alleged delinquent or adjudicated delinquent;
4. Any elementary or secondary school;
5. Any sports arena during a professional sporting event;
6. Any place where pari‑mutuel wagering is authorized by law; and
7. Any other place specifically prohibited by law.
B. For purposes of paragraphs 1, 2, 3, 5 and 6 of subsection A of this section, the prohibited place does not include and specifically excludes the following property:
1. Any property set aside for the use or parking of any vehicle, whether attended or unattended, by a city, town, county, state, or federal governmental authority,
2. Any property set aside for the use or parking of any vehicle, whether attended or unattended, by any entity offering any professional sporting event which is open to the public for admission, or by any entity engaged in pari-mutuel wagering authorized by law,
3. Any property adjacent to a structure, building, or office space in which concealed or unconcealed weapons are prohibited by the provisions of this section, and
4. Any property designated by a city, town, county, or state, governmental authority as a park, recreational area, or fairgrounds; provided nothing in this paragraph shall be construed to authorize any entry by a person in possession of a concealed or unconcealed handgun into any structure, building, or office space which is specifically prohibited by the provisions of subsection A of this section.
Oklahoma recognizes any valid concealed or unconcealed carry weapons permit or license issued by another state.
If you are from a state that allows you to carry a handgun but does not issue permits or licenses, Oklahoma allows you to carry under the permitting law of your specific state.
Other Gun Laws
In addition to concealed carry law Oklahoma has a long list of gun laws. Some are for penalties based on gun-related crimes while others address citizen's rights to openly carry a weapon.
Weapons Charges in Oklahoma
In addition to guns Oklahoma addresses a large number of does and don'ts in the legal code. For more information on specific gun crimes and their penalties check out this resource.
Open Carry Laws
While the ability to carry a concealed weapon in the state of Oklahoma still requires a permit, training, and background checks it is possible to "openly" carry a weapon in certain places and under specific circumstances. For more details check out this detailed post. https://www.oklahoma-criminal-defense.com/media/open-carry-gun-laws-in-oklahoma
REQUEST A FREE CASE EVALUATION
If you've been charged with a crime, or believe you may be, don't delay. Time is critical.
Contact Phillips & Associates now so that we can begin reviewing your case.
Call our offices anytime at 405-418-8888 or complete the form below.