Oklahoma City police who received complaints of a couple being too loud Monday later had to respond to an assault report involving the same individuals.
When police arrived to a neighborhood on SW 16 late Monday night, a 17-year-old boy told them that he saw a woman with a stick chasing a group of children across the street. When he tried to intervene, the woman hit him. Police reports indicate the teen was "red, bruised, and swollen" where he was struck.
Lisa Marie Gutierrez, 47, was arrested on complaints of assault with a dangerous weapon. Her boyfriend, Solon Quinn Ramsey, 44, was arrested on a complaint of public intoxication after police say he continually screamed and cursed at officers during the investigation. Officers reported that Ramsey, upon being asked how much he had too drink, responded, "Obviously too much."
Ramsey has numerous prior convictions:
Police reports indicate that Gutierrez said she was an alcoholic who blacks out while drinking, and she did not understand why she was under arrest. She said she did not remember anything after cooking out that afternoon. Ramsey told her it was because she "hit that kid with a stick."
In general, assault and battery is a misdemeanor punishable by a maximum of 90 days in jail and a fine of up to $1,000. However, under 21 O.S. §645, assault with a dangerous weapon is a felony punishable by a maximum of ten years in prison. According to the statute, assault and battery with a dangerous weapon occurs when a person uses a "sharp or dangerous weapon" to inflict bodily harm on another person. Because the law does not explicitly define a dangerous weapon, any number of objects which may be used to harm or injure another person during an assault can be considered "dangerous weapons" which elevate the charge beyond a typical assault and battery charge.
For example, if a person instigates a bar fight by punching someone else, he or she may be charged with assault and battery. If, instead, that person throws a beer bottle at the victim, he or she may be charged with assault and battery with a dangerous weapon.
If a woman gets drunk at a cookout and stands in the street screaming at the neighborhood kids, she may be charged with public drunkenness, punishable by a $10 to $100 fine and 5 to 30 days in jail. If she picks up a stick and chases kids and then hits anyone who tries to intervene, she could be facing felony conviction and much more serious penalties.
Read more about assault crimes and associated penalties on our website.
- Marijuana possession in Polk County, Florida
- Possession of a controlled dangerous substance in Oklahoma County
- Assault with a dangerous weapon in Oklahoma County
- Domestic Abuse in Oklahoma County
- DUI in Pottawatomie County